Will I Ever Stop Worrying About My Special Needs’ Son?

Alison Rhodes, The Safety Mom

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about Spencer.  He’s b  een doing so well at his new school in many respects.  He’s more relaxed, he’s getting good grades and, from what the teachers tell me, he’s popular in class.  It seemed as if everything was going along smoothly.  But, I’m back to worrying about the social issue.  My sweet little boy still doesn’t have any friends.  While his sisters are busy with playdates, Spencer is still alone.  This worries me beyond belief.  Living an hour away from his school makes it a challenge to arrange get togethers with boys from his class.  And, while the teachers say that kids like him, I really don’t know any of the kids in his class.  I found what I thought was a great social program for special needs kids run through our local YMCA but unfortunately it’s held on the Friday nights that his dad has him and he refuses to take him (no, he still can’t admit that it would be better for Spencer to socialize with other kids like himself)

So here I sit yet again, becoming increasingly concerned at his isolation.  How do I even go about finding friends for him?  How do I foster those friendships?  What does a “playdate” look like for a 12 year-old boy (is it even called a playdate?)  Mom is as much in the dark as her son as to how to do this!  I constantly worry about whether he’s depressed and not sharing it with me.  The challenges never seem to end and sometimes I’m exhausted with worry.  Yes, all moms worry about their kids but with special needs kids comes extra concerns and, you know what?  It’s exhausting!!!

Thoughts and suggestions from other parents out there would be greatly appreciated!

Alison Rhodes is the founder of Safety Mom Enterprises and Safety Mom Solutions, the premier baby proofing and child safety company in the New York, New Jersey and Connecticut area. Alison is a family safety expert, TV personality and consultant.

Vist our new store! Safety Mom Direct.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Learning Disabilities

One response to “Will I Ever Stop Worrying About My Special Needs’ Son?

  1. insightfulvoices

    This is a great question to pose to my friends here:
    http://www.TheCoffeeKlatch.com
    http://www.OurJourneyThruAutism.com (the same isolation is experienced with children who have aspergers)
    http://www.Education.com

    Good luck!!
    Louise

Leave a Reply

