My Family and I “Kicked-Off” The Holiday Season At The Radio City Christmas Spectacular by Alison Rhodes, The Safety Mom

Last week the kids and I (along with Grandma!) went into New York City to take part in the Christmas in August event at Radio City Music Hall, home to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular and the amazing Rockettes! Not only was this the “kick-off” for the 2010 holiday season for the show but it also was the beginning of the “Kick Across America” campaign which is supporting the Garden of Dreams Foundation.

This was the first trip for my kids to Radio City Music Hall and to have it decked out for Christmas made it even more special … and the “decorate your own cupcake” compliments of Magnolia Bakery was a big hit as well!

I told my daughter Kelsey that she could be my “assistant blogger” for this assignment so she took some notes during our backstage tour and an “interview” with one of the Rockettes. Here were her facts:

The Christmas Spectacular started in 1933
They have live animals in the show!
The backdrops weigh 1,800 lbs
The Rockettes didn’t start at Radio City, they actually started in St. Louis
The Rockette I met has been dancing with the Rockettes for six years
She was very pretty and had big bracelets

I love seeing what Kelsey took away from the day. Hannah decided she now wants to be a Rockette for Halloween and the best part of the day for Spencer was the cupcakes!

After the tour of the Music Hall we went outside to watch the Rockettes kick it up with a very special guest – Santa Claus! Santa invited everyone to come out and kick as well but my kids wanted no part of that (I can’t believe they get stage fright with me as their mother!) They even had “snow” coming down from the rooftop which definitely put all of us in the holiday spirit.

I remember how special it was going into New York to see the Christmas Spectacular when I was a little girl. I can’t wait to share that with my kids this year.

And Radio City wants to help other kids experience this magical event as well. Once 1,000,000 “kicks” are reached, Radio City Music Hall will donate thousands of tickets through the Garden Of Dreams Foundation to kids who might otherwise not have an opportunity to see the Christmas Spectacular. You can help out by visiting www.kickingacrossamerica.com and “kicking” on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube or texting a kick.

Alison Rhodes is the founder of Safety Mom Enterprises and Safety Mom Solutions, the premier baby proofing and child safety company in the New York, New Jersey and Connecticut area. Alison is a family safety expert, TV personality and consultant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, Events, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

