Moments of gratitude by Alison Rhodes, The Safety Mom

By The Safety Mom

I’m flying across the country to Houston and Portland for some Safety Mom TV segments as I write this. For some reason, whenever I’m on a plane it makes me quite introspective.

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog about Spencer and his progress. To be honest, it’s frustrating. His new school is wonderful but I wonder if we’re seeing progress. He just turned 12 and I marvel at how he’s growing up but it’s painful to see how far behind he is socially and academically. I want to scream yet again at his therapist and the school and say “Please help my son!” I was trying to explain last night to my fiancée how parents of special needs children cling to every person who offers hope in “fixing” their child. And then, once again, it seems our hopes are dashed when we don’t see the progress we had prayed for. But, I also stay determined. I know that my son isn’t the only one out there with his issues and I will keep searching until I find that one person who can help him.

Then, as I was trying to leave for my trip this morning my daughter came down with a fever, headache and stomach ache. I knew immediately, as only a mother does, that it was strep throat. And I also knew that I had to be the one to take her to the doctor. As a working mom I always have stress when I leave for a business trip but then having to leave a sick child it’s that much more agonizing. And yes, I love what I do but I also have to work – as so many moms out there do. After getting her to the doctor and arranging alternative babysitting options I had to fight massive crowds at the airport and horrific delays. So I try to go into my “zen mode” and pretend I’m not dealing with all of this. Not easy.

But then I get on the plane and get up into the air and something happens. I have no interruptions and I can sit and contemplate my life. And I realize that, no matter how stressful things seem at times, I have an amazing life. I’m blessed with wonderful kids, a man who loves me, fabulous friends and my health. I look down on the earth below me and realize that in the end life goes on, we find a way to get through and yes, I’m a very fortunate person.

Alison Rhodes is the founder of Safety Mom Enterprises and Safety Mom Solutions, the premier baby proofing and child safety company in the New York, New Jersey and Connecticut area. Alison is a family safety expert, TV personality and consultant.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Stories

Leave a Reply

