Help Kelly Ripa and Electrolux Raise Money For Ovarian Cancer by Alison Rhodes, The Safety Mom

As I always say, safety and wellness isn’t just about our kids.  Keeping ourselves healthy is equally as important.  In our busy daily lives, it’s so easy to forget about us and miss signs that we might have a health issues.  In my weekly radio show, “Keeping It Together With Alison Rhodes” – www.safetymom.com, I frequently speak with experts who encourage us, as moms, to find ways to stay fit and healthy.

I know that personally, I haven’t been taking care of myself as well as I should lately and I’m committing myself to getting a check-up and really listening to my body.  I was recently reading up on ovarian cancer and learned that there really is no way to test for it, you just need to be aware of changes that might be occurring in your body. Did you know that ovarian cancer causes more deaths than any other gynecological cancer?  And that over 90% of the cases occur in women over 40?  This was a fact I wasn’t aware of. 

I got started thinking about this after I learned of a campaign that Electrolux and Kelly Ripa are doing.  Visit Kelly-Confidential at www.kelly-confidential.com to learn about a fun contest that she’s promoting to help raise money for the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund.  She’s teamed up with TLC’s Cake Boss Buddy Valastro who worked with 5 teams of baking enthusiasts to design 5 really amazing cakes.  Simply vote for your favorite cake in Kelly’s Cake Off and Electrolux will donate $1 to the Ovarian Caner Research Fund.  You can get in on the “baking” too.  When you send a virtual cake to a friend, Electrolux will donate another $1 to the cause.  And each day you vote or send a cake, you’ll be entered for a chance to win a new Induction Range.  And Electrolux is donating $100 to OCRF for every range purchased this month.

So “send a cake” this week to your mom, sister or girlfriend and spread the word about ovarian cancer.

Alison Rhodes is the founder of Safety Mom Enterprises, www.safetymoms.com and Safety Mom Solutions, www.safetymomsolutions the premier baby proofing and child safety company in the New York, New Jersey and Connecticut area.  Alison is a family safety expert, TV personality and consultant. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Health & Wellness, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

