The Big Move

I’ve decided to start a music based series of blogs focusing around my new life as a single mom. It started with the classic Simon and Garfunkel classic Sounds of Silence. And now, with my move into my new home this weekend in the pouring rain, dividing up the furniture, a trip to the emergency room when I fell on the stairs, trying to unpack and find everything and dealing with the first day of school today, the only song that comes to mind is Billy Joel’s “Pressure.” (For anyone wanting to check out the music video, CLICK HERE.

I freaked out on the movers (three of my babysitter’s able-bodied friends) when they told me that they weren’t going to be able to hook up my Frigidaire Washer and Dryer in the new house – they didn’t think they could get it in the doorway. And no, I’m not over-reacting! The house I’m renting has an old washer and dryer that barely worked. My kids literally threw their clothes in garbage bags for the move so I knew I was looking at two days of laundry at the very least. The 28-minute quick wash and dry cycle has been a saving grace for me. And, after my son and daughter decided to play “capture the flag” outside in the rain on Saturday as we were moving I had a pile of wet, dirty socks that desperately needed the “Whitest White” setting on the Frigidaire Washer which is part of the Advanced Rinse Technology and uses fresh water for the final rinse. For any mom who has boys you know how fast socks and T-shirts are destroyed – this setting is the perfect solution! The fresh water rinse also helps cut down on allergens and, given that all three of my children have been walking around with runny noses and watery eyes, is a big plus.

While my theme song for the week is definitely Pressure, I can honestly say that it is still a calmer and more relaxing atmosphere now that we’re in our new home. For any parent going through a divorce you have my utmost respect. This has been an extremely difficult weekend but I know that my children and I are on the road to a happier life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

