Enjoying The Sounds of Silence With My Frigidaire Washer and Dryer

Enjoying The Sounds of Silence With My Frigidaire Washer and Dryer

“Hello darkness my old friend…” OK, I know I’m dating myself by quoting lines from this Simon & Garfunkel song (and I really wasn’t even a fan of theirs!) but this song came to mind when I was finishing up chores at 11:30P last night.

As most of you know, I’m going through a divorce and we’re doing this ridiculous thing called “bird housing.” For those of you who don’t know what that is, the kids stay in the house full time and the divorcing parents take turns living in the house. For any of you that are considering this – it’s horrible!

I’m only in the house every two days and, of course, when I’m not here NOTHING gets done! No grocery shopping, house cleaning and, of course, the laundry piles up beyond belief. So, even though we’re supposed to be “co-parenting,” I guess my soon-to-be ex missed the part about co-cleaning. This is the part that kills me. I want to spend every second of the time I have with my kids having fun but I also want to make sure that they have healthy food in the house when I’m not here and – oh yeah – maybe some clothes to wear!

So that’s why I found myself racing through the house like Mary Poppins last night after they went to bed, cooking meals to be frozen for the week, dusting and doing about 6 loads of laundry! I checked out the Quick Wash and Quick Dry setting on my new Frigidaire Washer and Dryer which did the trick. Both of them work in 28 minutes! This was multi-tasking at its best! I became a laundry queen … washing, drying, and folding. That’s another cool thing about the Frigidaire – it has TimeWise™ technology so wash time is the same as dry time. Before this, I would have to sit around with a load of wet clothes while I waited for the dryer to finish. Now, it’s beautifully synchronized! When I was finally done with the other chores and could sit down for a quiet moment I would still need to wait for a few loads of laundry. This is when I silently thanked the laundry Gods once again for my new washer and dryer. The washing machine is so quiet that I actually found myself running into the laundry room a few times to see if it was actually going – no loud rumble or noise from the water.

It’s strange feeling like a guest in your own home. And I never thought I could work harder than I did but as a single mom it’s just got cranked up a few more notches. But, I feel more accomplished and happy than I have in a long time! So, last night for the first time in a long time, I sat down, turned on some music, turned off the lights, poured a glass of wine and toasted my new life. And then I folded that last load of laundry!

(For those of you not familiar with this great Simon & Garfunkel song, click here and you’ll know what I mean about it being a perfect song at the end of a long day)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

