My kids’ first trip without me!

This was a challenging week for me.  I'm in the process of a divorce and my children's father decided to take them away for a four-day vacation.  My first reaction when he mentioned this to me was surprise and then mild annoyance.   But then I quickly remembered my reaction when my divorced girlfriend's would tell me about their ex's taking their kids away.  I would tell them to enjoy the time alone.  Boy, until you're part of "the club" you really don't know what it's like.   When they left on Monday I was heartbroken.  I travel a great deal when I'm on media tours but it's different when I'm on the road away from them -I know they're home in their routine.  When they're away I have no idea what's happening.  But I knew I had to put on a happy face for them and be excited.  It was a good bit of acting on my part! 

This is a brave new world for me – single mom.  I'm figuring my way through it and I'm sure I'm going to make mistakes along the way and I know there are going to be some hard moments.  It's not a club I ever thought I would be a part of but here I am.   I'd love to hear your stories about your experience with divorce.  I'm learning that we all need to stick together and support each other!

1 Comment

Filed under Divorce

One response to “My kids’ first trip without me!

  1. MP

    I wish you and your family the best as you all deal with the decisions you or your husband make.
    Tangent: considering your situation, perhaps your About page (http://blog.thesafetychronicles.com/about.html ) could use a refresher? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

