Michelle and Hillary – Two role models for our girls

Michelle obama For the past two nights I have sat glued to my TV watching and listening to two incredible women – Michelle Obama and Hillary Clinton.  I wish my daughters were a bit older so that they could have stayed up with me and really appreciated what is happening right now. 

Michelle echoed the principals I try to teach my children every day – your word is your bond, do what you say you're going to do, treat everyone with respect even if you don't agree with them and, above all, the only limit to the height of your achievements is the reach of your dreams and your willingness to work for them.  She is passionate about her work but even more passionate about her children.  While she supports her husband she can point to numerous accomplishments in her own life, most notably as founding executive director of the Chicago chapter of Public Allies, a group that prepares young people for public service. 

As Michelle said in her speech, Hillary Clinton put 18 million cracks in the glass ceiling so that our sons and daughters can dream a little bigger and aim a little higher.  I had the honor of meeting Hillary last year and her passion is contagious.  She is fiercely determined, willing to fight for what she believes in and gracious under pressure.

I'm inspired by their strength and hope that I can be a role model like them for my own daughters.  They reminded me that I need to teach my daughters…and son…every day to fight for what you believe in, work hard for what you want and treat everyone with dignity and respect.  Regardless of our political beliefs, these are qualities that I would think that all of us want to teach our children.  As mothers we have an opportunity to shape the future of this world through our children.  Let's make sure that we hold not only ourselves but our elected officials to task and help our children to reach their full potential by supporting them in their dreams.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Michelle and Hillary – Two role models for our girls

  1. Right on Allison.
    Yes, we witnessed two very powerful women, not afraid to speak of their convictions for our country and of their passion for America’s children and families. Like never before, I am hearing messages I feel I can believe and feel I can hold true to what is being said.
    I am proud to be an American during this incredibly poignant time.
    Please get out and cast your vote for the candidate that will best serve our families and children!

Leave a Reply

