Connor’s Birthday

Yesterday was my son Connor’s 11th birthday.  Unfortunately, he wasn’t here to share it with me.  Connor died of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome in 1997 when he was 3 months and 24 days old.  Even though he was with us for a short time he changed my life profoundly.  He was my little angel and continues to watch over our entire family.  Spencer, Kelsey and Hannah, my other three children, all know Connor and help us celebrate his life every year.  We have a tradition of writing messages to him on balloons and releasing them as we sing Happy Birthday.   

SIDS is unpreventable and unpredictable and his death left me filled with questions I probably won’t ever have answered.  What I do know is that it’s made me  incredibly aware of everything that can happen to babies and toddlers.   And I try to never take for granted how lucky I am to have my three other beautiful children.   

For more information about SIDS and risk reduction measures please visit www.firstcandle.org

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Connor’s Birthday

  1. I just hopped on your blog for the first time as I do Blog tours with the folks at Mom Central. Although words can’t express… I am so sorry.

  2. Thanks Colleen,
    People always say to me, “I never could have handled it” but it’s amazing the strength a person actually has. I just read an article in USA Today about families of the victims of 9/11 and how some drew strength from their faith. That was definitely me. It also allowed me to find my true calling in life for which I will always be grateful.
    So nice to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

